Snakes Alive! Baby Snake Skin Shoes

Recently, I had a request from a customer on my Facebook page to make some of my Little Pods with snakes on.  Snakes!  Cripes!

I had a little search and couldn’t find any fabric that had snakes on or that was even a bit snaky to my mind, and then I remembered that in my magical fabric cupboard of joy, right at the back, I had some gorgeous suede-like material I’d always called dinosaur skin… like this

I mulled over the possible fabrics for the reverse for quite some time.  I do have some lovely fabrics that are boyish, but couldn’t quite think of any that would so with the snake theme… and then I remembered some Ikea fabric I’d bought recently to make bags…

Perfect!

So I whipped up a pair of reversible shoes in it, to see how it would turn out.

Here’s the finished product.  I love the fact that the poppers are brown on one side and lime green on the other – it’s the little things like that which keep me amused and make crafting fun.  What do you think?  Do they say ‘snake’ to you?

Luckily, they did indeed say ‘snake’ to Karina who had commissioned them, so now they are all wrapped and ready to go to their new home in Australia.  Like they don’t have enough snakes there already!

Bon Voyage, Snakes Alive Shoes!  Enjoy Brissy.

~Dianne of mooandflo

By the way – no actual snakes were hurt in the making of these shoes 🙂

One comment on “Snakes Alive! Baby Snake Skin Shoes

Leave a Reply

